welcome to 08online

the official homepage for the mighty sea scouts of
penang free school
8th georgetown (south) sea scout group

Participants of the 1992 PFS Scout Car Grand Prix

In recent weeks, we highlighted some foreword messages found in the 1992 PFS Scout Car Grand Prix souvenir magazine and published a brief history of the PFS Scout Car Grand Prix to debunk claims that the pedal car race organised by the Penang Turf Club in August 2007 is the first ever pedal car racing in Malaysia as claimed by them and rubber-stamped by the Malaysian Book of Records.

As promised, in this instalment we will publish the list of participating schools and scout cars for the 1992 PFS Scout Car Grand Prix.
Scouts & Rovers
SRJK Chung Hwa
SRK Batu Lanchang
SRK Sri Inai
SRK Wellesley
Chung Ling High School
St. Xaviers Institution
Methodist Boys School
Hamid Khan Secondary School
'A' GTS Open Rover Crew
1st Georgetown (South), PFS
7th Georgetown (South), PFS
8th Georgetown (South), PFS
PFS Rover Scout Crew

Guides & Rangers
Convent Light Street
Convent Pulau Tikus
Methodist Girls School
Sri Mutiara Secondary Girls School
4th Penang Ranger, PFS

List of Scout Cars
Forget the Rest (1gts)
Catqueck-Mhor (1gts)
Jody II (7gts)
Zorlac (7gts)
Hispaniola (8gts)
Cataclysmic (8gts)
Bomia (PFS Rover Scout Crew)
Ultimatiche (PFS Rover Scout Crew)
I don't know about you but that list which was compiled two weeks before the race (which means it is possible that the list of participants is even longer than this one) has more participants than the ten schools that participated in the August pedal car race. Even if this is not the case, this long list of participants is an indication that the PFS Scout Car Grand Prix is definitely no past-time sport as cynically claimed by the organising chairman of the pedal car race.

It would be interesting to know the response of the very first Scout Car Grand Prix in 1969 (then Soap Box Derby), wouldn't it? The report on the event is coming up next!

No comments:

Post a Comment